Tuesday, October 25, 2005

Indie Memphis 2005 winners

Here are the winners as reported by John Beifuss in the CA. Still time to see many of them:

Best Narrative Feature, Indie Memphis ($750 prize): "Say Yes Quickly," described as "a contemporary Southern Gothic love story" from director Gregg Hale, a "Blair Witch" producer.

Best Narrative Short, Indie Memphis ($500): "Raccoon," a story of two hunters in the winter of 1968. The film will be screened during a program of shorts at 8:30 p.m. Wednesday. Director Trey Nelson is scheduled to attend.

Best Documentary, Indie Memphis ($750): "Occupation: Dreamland," directed by Gary Scott and Ian Olds, an intimate portrait of American soldiers in Fallujah, Iraq, in 2004.

Best Animated or Experimental Film, Indie Memphis ($500): John Cernak's computer-generated "Joyride," which screens during an animation program at 8:30 p.m. today.

Best Narrative Feature, Hometowner ($600): "Act One," a romantic comedy-drama directed by Brad Ellis and written by star Allen Gardner, produced by Old School Pictures, a company composed of a group of friends who have been making movies since the 1990s when they were at Houston High School. "Act One" screens at 6:30 p.m. Thursday; the filmmakers will attend.

Best Narrative Short, Hometowner ($400): Andrew Nenninger's "Bright Sunny South."

Best Documentary, Hometowner ($400): Brett Hanover's "Above God."

"Bright Sunny South" and "Above God" will screen during competing programs at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday; the filmmakers will attend.

Best Music Video, Hometowner ($300): "Abra Cadaver," by the Hives, directed by John Michael McCarthy.

The Ron Tibbett Excellence in Filmmaking Award ($500) was awarded to MeDiA Co-op co-founder and filmmaker/activist Morgan Jon Fox, who has two movies in the festival: the documentary "What Does Love In Action Look Like: a prologue," and the feature "away(A)wake," at 8:30 p.m. today. Fox also acts in "Dollars & Signs," which shows at 6:30 p.m. Thursday.

The new Kodak Tennessee Filmmaker Award, which provides $1,000 worth of 16mm or 35mm film to the recipient, went to Geoffrey Brent Shrewsbury, a past Indie Memphis winner.

No comments: